BSAVA 2023 award winners revealed
The recipients will receive their awards at BSAVA Congress.
The awards celebrate the profession's unsung heroes.

The winners of the 2023 BSAVA awards have been revealed.

Championing the profession's unsung heroes, the BSAVA Awards recognise those who have gone above and beyond in the field of small animal veterinary practice. The recipients will receive their awards during a ceremony at BSAVA Congress, Manchester, on Friday, 24 March. 

Taking home BSAVA's primary recognition accolade – The Bourgelat Award – is Dr Greg Lisciandro for 'outstanding contributions to the fields of small animal practice or science in their widest context'.

Dr Lisciandro received the award for the first edition of his book “Point of Care Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner,” and how it changed and improved how veterinary practitioners diagnose and manage patients. 

In addition to publishing a second edition of the book, Dr Lisciandro has collaborated with other world-leading veterinary surgeons, researching point of care ultrasound and published these findings in a range of well-respected veterinary journals. 

Dr Lisciandro and his wife Stephanie also provide monthly webinars to train veterinary surgeons with their global FAST examination.

The BSAVA's Simon Award has been bestowed to Dr Philipp Mayhew 'for contributions to the advancement of all small animal surgery in its widest context'. 

A graduate of The Royal Dick School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr Mayhew pioneered adapting minimally invasive surgical techniques to specific differences in canine and feline anatomy and physiology. He also developed novel techniques that eliminate the need for open abdominal or thoracic surgery. 

Dr Emi Barker has been awarded The BSAVA's Woodrow Award for 'contributions to the advancement of small animal medicine in its widest context'.

One of the first cohort of veterinary pathology intercalators at the RVC, Dr Barker won the award for her molecular studies of haemoplasma infection and research into the diagnosis and treatment of FIP. 

The other 2023 award winners are:

The Amoroso Award - Jenny Hammond BA VetMB BSc MRCVS  
The Blaine Award - John Innes BVSc PhD CertVR DSAS(Orth) FRCVS  
The Bruce Vivash Jones Veterinary Nurse - Lis Oram RVN 
The Ray Butcher Award - Ian MacFarlaine RVN
The J.A. Wight Memorial Award - Sean Wensley BVSc MSc FRCVS
BSAVA PetSavers veterinary achievement award - Ellyn Groat BVSc MRCVS 
BSAVA PetSavers clinical abstract award - Emily Blackwell 
The Melton Award - Eirik Kvale 
The Dunkin Award - Christiane Weingart.

BSAVA honorary secretary, Krista Arnold said: “Congratulations to all our award winners this year. There were some exceptional nominations and it’s great to celebrate everything our winners have achieved. We look forward to formally presenting their awards at Congress 2023.”